Welcome to the Territories page for the Pueblos. This is a page managed by Native Land Digital.

Please let us know if you have any corrections or improvements we can make.

Last updated on December 15, 2020

“There are 19 Pueblo tribes in New Mexico, and each Pueblo is a sovereign nation. Today Pueblo people are located primarily in New Mexico, however, at one time our homeland reached into what is now Colorado and Arizona, where we established incredible dwellings and trading centers like those located at Chaco Canyon in northwestern New Mexico and Mesa Verde in southwestern Colorado. Pueblo people have preserved our identity in the face of multiple colonizing nations, and today, as always, we value our identity and traditional ways of life. At the same time we live in modern houses, working and living both on and off our reservations. Our beliefs and actions are still guided by Pueblo Core Values, which include Love, Respect, Compassion, Faith, Understanding, Spirituality, Balance, Peace and Empathy. We continue to participate in our traditional celebrations and ceremonies throughout the year, maintaining our connection to our communities, to our ancestors and to the earth.”

“Sovereignty, in the words of our elders and spiritual leaders, is a right to our existence. The ultimate power of that existence, our Pueblo Way of Life, comes from the Creator.” (Regis Pecos, New Mexico Leadership Institute)


3. Images

5. Changelog

  • First update (June 14, 2018)
  • Updated map shape and added sources (February 4, 2019)
  • Websites added (February 11, 2020)
  • Websites added (August 23, 2020)
  • Cross linked maps (December 15, 2020)

5. Corrections

Please send us your thoughts or fixes.