Welcome to the Territories page for the NWT Métis Nation. This is a page managed by Native Land Digital.

Please let us know if you have any corrections or improvements we can make.

Last updated on September 3, 2018

“We are direct descendents of those people who signed Treaty 8 at Fort Chipewyan, Smith’s Landing and Fort Resolution. However, we have never been accorded the benefits of Treaty 8 or recognized as a First Nations people.

We, the indigenous Métis of the South Slave, now reside mainly in the communities of Fort Smith, Hay River, Fort Resolution and Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories.

We did not cede, surrender or release Aboriginal title to the lands and resources throughout our traditional territory. We shall always have Aboriginal rights to the use of our lands and resources. We also have the inherent right to govern ourselves in matters that are internal to our communities and traditional territory, integral to our distinctive culture and practices, customs and traditions, and with respect to our unique relationship to our land, water and resources, and essential to our operations as governments.”


3. Images

5. Changelog

5. Corrections

Please send us your thoughts or fixes.